Transitions (but not like in Final Cut)

This week, while far less stressful than the last, was certainly an eventful one. I got a couple of solid interviews for my video project, and I feel like on the whole I was much more prepared for everything that came at me this week.

This week was a wrap up for my work with the Columbia Art League. It's been quite a journey to learn so much about the League and about the exhibition I covered.

The past week also marked a series of transitions for me as a journalism student. I shot video for my last project with the Columbia Art League. After half a semester of working with the Art League, artists and even a book editor, as well as feeling way more artistic than I’ve felt in a long time, my work with this segment of the class is coming to a close. It’s definitely been a journey. It started with a whirlwind trip to the League to shoot photos for a project I had found only the day before. I was nervous, uncertain and far less experienced than I am now. I remember checking out a camera and playing with it in the couple of hours before my first event, praying I could get some decent shots. It was the first time I’d ever really used something better than a point and shoot.

Diana Moxon announces winners for the "Hint Fiction" exhibition. I took this picture on my first night using the D7000. I've come a long way since then.

The rest of the project gave me plenty of opportunities to learn and discover. I definitely caught a glimpse of Columbia’s artistic side, which is far more robust than I might have assumed at the beginning of the semester. I learned to work with photos, audio and video and honed my communication skills as I made new contacts and conducted interviews. It was stressful at times, that’s for sure. But I learned a lot.

But now it’s time to wrap up my work with the Art League. This week, I started brainstorming with my convergence group for a new project idea. It’s definitely going to be different working with a team to put together a series of media stories, but I think it’s going to be good. I will get the chance to learn from my peers and find out what my strengths and weaknesses as a journalist working with multimedia really are. I get to work with two people I trust to get their jobs done – Margaret and Emily – and I think together we’ll be able to push each other to really create something good.

On another note of transition for the semester so far: I got accepted into my interest area, news reporting, for next semester and also got an email that I’ve been accepted to work at the Missourian in the spring. So basically, it’s been an eventful week. I’m definitely a little nervous to go into my upper level classes in January. It’s going to be, well, a transition. But I know I have the skills and the drive to keep up the pace and gain the experience I need. The classes I’ve taken so far have been good preparation, but the work I do in my upper-division classes will really give me the chance to shine and learn more about what it takes to be a journalist. I know it’s not going to be easy, but I think it’s going to be a good experience.

One thought on “Transitions (but not like in Final Cut)

  1. Your first paragraph was a little rough, but the rest of the post was solid.

    Great time to reflect on your seven week story – you really have come a long way.

    My wife says, “prepare to have no life in the spring, as you will spend all of your waking moments in class or working for the Missourian.” She’s not completely serious with that comment, but you probably will feel more at home at the Missourian than your own room. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

