Pre-spring break encouragement

It’s going to be a busy week.

I’ve got four stories I hope to have ready to publish by the end of the week. The first is a quick profile of a student council advisor who won an award. It’s basically a look into what an educator in Columbia Public Schools is doing to make a difference. The second is a reax (reaction) piece I am doing with Abigail and Nicole about how people in the community will be affected if the proposed tax levy and bond issue pass. The third is a school board work session story. This should be a fairly quick turn, since the meeting is at 7:30 a.m. and usually only has a couple of agenda items. The fourth is a school board candidate forum on Friday, also a fairly quick turn.

On top of that, I have a general assignment shift Tuesday (which I am currently trying to brainstorm for) and at some point, Nan and I are going to finish our multimedia project.

My goal is basically to make it through this week in one piece, then revel in the freedom that is spring break. The immediate result of my labor will be seeing the Hunger Games movie. (Seriously, this might be the only thing I talk about all week that isn’t journalism.) The further reaching result of my work will be a week doing inner-city construction projects in Memphis, Tenn. I’m pretty excited to head to Memphis; I’m hoping it’s exactly what I need at this point.

While I have quite a lot to do, the immense amount of work I have is honestly making me not want to do anything at all. So, I made a couple of graphics both to ease my stress and give me encouragement to focus and get through the week. I’ll share them here.

My fellow reporter, Celia, wrote a blog post about everyone on the beat and how we work together. She says I'm like Leslie Neilsen in "Airplane!" I don't really have words for how excited this makes me, and I'm probably going to be quoting this line all week.

I found a meme generator today. (I know, I'm behind the times.) Since I think Hyperbole and a Half is the best thing since sliced bread, and I've got a lot to do this week, I thought I would let it encourage me.

Leave a Reply

