That’s a wrap … for now

Despite the stress of finals, papers, packing, saying goodbye and getting out of my dorm, I ended up turning three clips for my last full week of reporting, plus one more Monday night before I left Columbia. However, I definitely had a lot of help with them. One was the multimedia project I’ve been working on since before I can remember, the other was part of a team package and the other was a school board advance (a pretty straightforward day-turn). On Monday, I ended up helping another reporter cover the school board meeting. It was definitely a week of seeing things come together: a project I’ve been doing for weeks, a chance to work together with the rest of my beat, a kind of story with which I have the confidence to do in a couple of hours. It was a good way to wind things down as my time at the Missourian came to a close.

There’s probably going to be some radio silence on this blog for a while. I’ll be spending the summer as a camp counselor at the YMCA of the Rockies, so I won’t be doing a lot of journalism-related work for the next couple of months. But I’m planning to be back in the fall. I’m taking three journalism classes: intermediate writing, history of journalism, and intro to editing. I won’t be at the Missourian, but this fall will be a good opportunity to grow in my confidence and skill as a reporter.

I’ll miss the Missourian, but I know my next semester will offer me plenty of opportunities both inside and outside the classroom. I’ll be putting so much of what I learned this spring into practice, and I’m really excited to see where this crazy ride takes me next.

So until then, hope you guys have a great summer, and I’ll see you all in the fall.

New stories: Living sustainably in a community (multimedia);  School board expected to vote on increase in lunch pricesSeniors reflect on their time at MUColumbia School Board updated on plans to reassign teachers

Leave a Reply

