What I’m doing with my life (meaning next semester)

This morning, I registered for my spring semester classes. (I only get to do that two more times after today. how weird is that?) Plus side to being a junior with enough credits to be considered a semester ahead — I got to sign up on the second or third day of enrollment. It’s quite nice to not have to worry so much about getting into classes.

So without further ado, I present my potential schedule for spring 2013:

Now, you’ll notice I’m only taking 12 hours this spring, after a crazy fall with more classes than I know how to handle.

Which leads me to my next announcement.

I’m most likely going to be back at the Missourian this spring to do advanced reporting.

While I’ll offer the disclaimer that nothing is ever certain until both my feet are in the newsroom on the first day of classes, I’m at a pretty substantially high confidence level.

And for the most part, I feel pretty good about it.

I’ll admit, I’m a little nervous to go back. I know it’s going to be a lot of hard work, and I’m going to have to step up in new ways that will take me further as a journalist than my first reporting semester did. I’ve got to pick a beat that will help me grow the most. I’ve got to continue what I started by gaining skill and confidence.

It’s a tall order, but I think I’ll be prepared.

I’ve got a lot of things going for me that I didn’t have last semester — some extra confidence, a more skill doing longer-term pieces, more knowledge of editing and AP style.

There are still a lot of uncertainties, but I think I’m excited to go back.

This time, I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

