Snow-cial journalism (I’m sorry, I couldn’t help it…)

(This post re-blogged from the Spring ’13 Advanced Reporting blog)

A brief moment of insight into my mind:

Last night, I was stuck in my house trying to cram for an English test. I’d been mostly stuck indoors since classes got cancelled, and I’d also been out of the newsroom because I was desperately trying to figure out the difference between a bunch of Civil War short stories.

Then the Tweets and the emails and the joyous exclamations from my roommates poured in.

Class was cancelled again on Friday. Along with my exam.

My first thought:

“Dang it, I could have been reporting instead of studying all day.”

It’s one of those moments when I realize I picked the right major.

The cool thing is, though, that even though I was mostly stuck outside the newsroom, I still got to help cover the snow in my own small way. I spent the day tweeting pictures and updates from my side of Columbia for the “Social Snow” coverage, and a couple of my tweets ended up on the site for a bit. (Not to mention that I pulled off a phone interview and worked on a story I’m trying to turn.)

I think I often underestimate the value of this kind of journalism. I get caught up in a mindset of “oh-my-gosh-I-need-to-turn-clips-now-or-the-world-will-end,” and I forget that a newsroom’s content is a lot more than just words on a site plus pictures or graphics because I think “oh-yeah-I-have-to-do-that-too.” But the cool thing about the Missourian is that it recognizes that journalism is more than writing a story and calling it a day. Even when a bunch of reporters can’t make it in because we can’t get out of our driveways, we can still produce content that engages people and helps them join our conversation.

Leave a Reply

