It’s like the end, but not

I’m sitting in the newsroom lobby, waiting on my last accuracy check before I finish my advanced reporting semester (callbacks on potential edits not included). I am tired. I haven’t slept well all week. I’m quite certain that most of the things I say sound incoherent at this point.

But I’m happy.

I basically wrote my heart out in my last post, so there isn’t much more I can really say to explain my thoughts right now. I came to advanced reporting determined to prove to myself that I could handle the pressures of working in the newsroom again. And I’ve accomplished that in more ways than I could have predicted at the beginning of the semester. My energy is spent, but it’s been spent well. I’m satisfied with the work I’ve done and the ways I’ve grown. I remember now why I decided I wanted to chase this major in the first place. I know that when I hit the streets of Dubuque, Iowa as a reporting intern in just over two weeks, I’ll be ready.

I’ll probably hang around on this blog over the summer — I set out to use it as a way to chronicle my experiences as a journalism major, and I’d be letting myself down if I didn’t give myself space to reflect on the work I do as an intern.

For now though, I’ll wait on my last accuracy check and then give myself a break for a couple of weeks before hitting the ground running in a new city at a new paper.

Until then, you’ll find me catching up on my sleep.

Leave a Reply

