On friendships

“Hey Allie, guess what?”

“What?”

“You got a job.”

I smile as my friends and I run through variations on this short conversation for the umpteenth time in the past week. Part of that reaction is because it’s true. (YES, GOOD PEOPLE, I HAVE A JOB.) But there’s another part of me that’s happy simply because I know the kind of people still willing to celebrate with me even a week later.

One thing that’s been tough for me since graduating is being away from the people who know me best. I spent four years building some really tight relationships, and while those haven’t gone away, the distance reminds me of how much my life is in flux right now. And I admit it makes me feel a bit insecure at times.

But then when I start feeling a little overwhelmed by just how big my world is becoming, my friends here show up in the coolest ways. They get just as excited as I do about knowing what I’m doing at the end of the summer. They took me out to dinner and gave me a card signed by all the other interns. They figured out I apologize too much and call me out on it. They stick with me during my weird freakouts and don’t judge me when they’re over.

I’m the kind of person who is pretty easily moved by others’ kindness. And I’m OK with that quality because it means that more often than not, I’m grateful. And right now, that about sums up how I feel about being surrounded by some pretty incredible people.

It’s just one of those things that reminds me that whatever happens next, I’m going to be all right.

Stories: Two men dead, one injured in shooting at Lenexa home, Proposed amendment would make Missouri gun rights among the strongest, Flying outside the helicopter: A Leavenworth soldier’s story

Leave a Reply

